We are delighted that these four highly experienced people have agreed to judge the MAKE Award in 2023.

The judges are:

  • Hyeyoung CHO, Chairperson, The Korea Association of Art and Design and Jury Member Loewe Craft Prize
  • Brian Parkes, Chief Executive Officer, JamFactory
  • Jason Smith, Director, Geelong Gallery
  • Lisa Cahill, CEO and Artistic Director, Australian Design Centre

Hyeyoung CHO is currently the Chairperson of Korea’s oldest academic association for craft – The Korea Association of Art & Design. This is a federation of university professors researching in different craft related subjects. She has been a jury member of the Expert Panel for the Loewe Craft Prize since 2020. She is also an independent curator of craft, and she personifies the practice of radical sharing in her curatorial practice.

An internationally recognised curator, she works globally for acclaimed museums and organisations. Hyeyoung began as a studio artist, working her way up to curator, artistic director, and an administrator. She served as Secretary General for the Korea Craft and Design Foundation, affiliated to the Ministry of Sports, Culture and Tourism. Committed to importing her country’s cultural assets, Hyeyoung worked as International Commissioner connecting the world with the Gyeonggi International Ceramic Biennale 2013; as Art Director for the Cheongju Craft Biennale 2015; Guest Curator for the Fondation Bernardaud celebrating the 130 Years of Korea-France Relations which traveled to the Victoria and Albert Museum 2016-2018; Art Director for the Constancy and Change Korean Craft Exhibition for Milan Design Week 2017, and many more.

Brian Parkes has been CEO at JamFactory in Adelaide since April 2010. He has overseen significant development of the organisation’s exhibition and training programs and substantial growth in its audience and operational budget. He is passionate about the social, cultural and economic value of art, craft and design and has worked in senior curatorial and commercial management roles in the visual art, craft and design sector in Australia for over 30 years, including stints at the Australian Design Centre, the Museum of Contemporary Art and the National Gallery of Australia. He has curated numerous exhibitions focused on contemporary Australian craft and design and has remained active in mentoring and supporting emerging artists, designers and creative entrepreneurs over the past two decades.

Jason Smith is the Director and CEO of Geelong Gallery, where since 2016 he has curated major exhibitions of the work of Clarice Beckett, Mandy Martin, Blanche Tilden, Jacky Redgate, and Fred Williams.  He was previously Curatorial Manager of Australian Art at the Queensland Art Gallery / Gallery of Modern Art; Director & CEO of Heide Museum of Modern Art; Director of Monash Gallery of Art; and Curator of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Victoria. He has individually and collaboratively curated 70 solo, group and thematic exhibitions including surveys of the works of Howard Arkley, Su san Cohn,  Peter Booth, Louise Bourgeois, Gwyn Hanssen Pigott and Stephen Benwell. He has written on the works of more than 150 artists for a range of publications.

Lisa Cahill has been CEO and Artistic Director of Australian Design Centre since 2016. In that time Lisa has curated eight annual creative programs, including more than 50 contemporary craft and design exhibitions and the annual Sydney Craft Week Festival. Over 35 years’ Lisa has worked across government and the arts as a curator, writer and creative producer and, most recently, created and hosted ADC’s award nominated podcast series. She is privileged to work with hundreds of designer/makers and creative partners each year across Australia.

Entries for the $45,000 MAKE Award close on 9 June 2023.

End of article.