Australian Design Centre and WORKSHOPPED are delighted to present their fourth partnership of the WORKSHOPPED exhibition and the 21st edition of the annual program, WORKSHOPPED21 - the very best in new Australian furniture lighting and object design by emerging and established designers.

WORKSHOPPED21 was scheduled to open at Australian Design Centre in Darlinghurst, however due to the Covid lockdown the 17 shortlisted designers' works are shared across our digital platforms including social media. 

Responding to the brief, What does the future look like in object, furniture and lighting design, the shortlisted works consider the Australian design identity, circular design principles, bioplastics, salvaged and waste materials, space saving, multifunction and accessible design. 

The awards were judged by Olaf and Leanne from WORKSHOPPED, Lisa Cahill from Australian Design Centre and Dr Stefan Lie. The judges were impressed with the entries in this year's with some displaying exciting future focussed solutions.

The winners are:

WORKSHOPPED21 Established Designer Award
Winner: Michael Hoppe, font, 2021

WORKSHOPPED21 Emerging Designer Award 
Joint Winners: Leon Curtis, Herringbone Tall Boy, 2020 and Simon Haeser Oceania, 2018

Highly Commended:
Marika Svikis LAYERS, 2021 and Kathleen Prentice Bell-bottom Stool, 2019

WORKSHOPPED21 Sustainable Design Award
Winner: Matthew Harkness, Speckled Side Tables, 2020

Highly Commended:
Marta Figueiredo Stardust, 2021

People's Choice Award

Winner: Mick Jessop Iso Entertainment Unit, 2021

This year, due to the cancellation of the physical exhibition, the design community has come together to support WORKSHOPPED21 by generously donating over $12,000 in prizes for the People’s Choice Award. The prize drawer resulted in over 500 votes. Congratulations to the winners! Workshopped will be in contact to organise your prizes.

First Prize - Valued at $8500

Winner - Kristie Martin

Second Prize - Valued at $3300

Winner - Marcille Heiney

Third Prize - Valued at $745

Winner - Fernando Tellier Motti

End of article.